Telling Stories – Day 3

11 Nov

Back in the day when I was feeding a bunch of kids, spaghetti was always my favorite thing to make and the kids loved it. I made my own sauce and never made it the same way, always adding a little of this and a little of that. I discovered Ragu after the kids were out of the house.

My daughter says I wasn’t a gourmet cook and I agree with her. I cooked things the kids and their Dad would eat. I tried a few times to help them develop a more sophisticated palate but was hampered by a meat and potatoes guy from Detroit (their Dad). My budget was also very lean and not conducive to fine cuisine.

I always cooked from scratch and loved the process. The kitchen was a gathering place and we had a large island with butcher board where we could gather. I would spend at least an hour and a half or more on dinner any given evening. I was not a fast cook and was frequently interrupted by the shenanigans of four active rug rats.

The following recipe was a big hit. Somehow I remember using sour cream but this is Campbell’s recipe. My son Jim could eat the whole thing if allowed.

Campbell’s Chicken Broccoli Divan Recipe

Ingredients & Instructions Recipe Tips
What You’ll Need
4 cups cooked broccoli florets
2 cups cubed cooked chicken
1 can (10 3/4 ounces) Campbell’s® Condensed Cream of Chicken Soup or Campbell’s® Condensed 98% Fat Free Cream of Chicken Soup or Campbell’s® Healthy Request® Condensed Cream of Chicken Soup
1/3 cup milk
1/2 cup shredded Cheddar cheese (about 2 ounces)
2 tablespoons plain dry bread crumbs
1 tablespoon butter, melted

How to Make It
1 Place the broccoli and chicken into a 9-inch pie plate.
2 Stir the soup and milk in a small bowl. Pour the soup mixture over the broccoli and chicken. Sprinkle with the cheese. Stir the bread crumbs and butter in a small bowl. Sprinkle the bread crumb mixture over the cheese.
3 Bake at 450°F. for 20 minutes or until the chicken mixture is hot and bubbling.

2 Responses to “Telling Stories – Day 3”

  1. sk8creteordie November 11, 2014 at 11:23 pm #

    oh my god i miss that dish!! i’d make an exception to my Pescetarianism for that.

    • maryeoconnor November 13, 2014 at 12:59 am #

      Maybe white tuna would work! Can’t mess with a winner however.

Leave a Reply

